An "auction house" is any commercial establishment at which goods are regularly or customarily offered for sale or sold at public auction, or at which goods are customarily or regularly deposited and accepted, on consignment or otherwise, for sale at public auction at a fixed location (as printed on AHO license), except those establishments which limit goods sold to thoroughbred horses or any interests therein, including, but not limited to, shares and seasons, and certified fixed-base livestock markets.
An "auction house operator" is the individual principally or ultimately responsible for the operation of an auction house, or in whose principal interest the establishment is operated. If an auction house operator has more than one auction house, he/she has a separate license for each location.
If there are partners in the auction business, all partners must have a license issued by the Kentucky Board of Auctioneers. An individual with an auction house operator license cannot call the bids; but must use the services of a licensed auctioneer to call bids. If the owner of an auction house business is a Kentucky licensed principal auctioneer, an additional auction house operator license is not necessary.
(1) Good repute, trustworthy, and competent to transact the business for which the license is granted.
(2) At least eighteen (18) years of age.
(3) A high school diploma or equivalent.
(4) Successful completion of twelve (12) hours of pre-license auction education from a board-approved provider.
(5) Successful completion of the Auction House Operator examination and remittance of the initial licensure fee and initial recovery fund fee.
(6) A FBI background report that is less than sixty (60) days old. (see information below)
Learn More About the Examination Process
Individuals planning to apply for a Kentucky auctioneer license must request a copy of their identification record (FBI Background report) prior to applying for an initial license or reactivating a license from escrow status.
The first step is to go to your local law enforcement agency and have your fingerprints taken.
Next you will need to go to the FBI website (listed below) and follow the instructions to submit your fingerprint card.
Contact the FBI office for additional assistance at 304-625-5590.
Once you receive the report, you will submit that with your completed license application and any other required documents.
To obtain an FBI report:
Follow the guidance on the FBI website to obtain your report after mailing in your fingerprint card.
Avg. Processing Time: One week
Fingerprint cards can be obtained from the following sources:
Board of Auctioneers, 500 Mero St., 2NE09 Frankfort, KY 40601 (During Business Hours)
We strongly recommend that you obtain your fingerprints at a local law enforcement agency (police station, sheriff's office, etc.) Note: The Kentucky State Police charge $10 for fingerprinting.
All FBI reports expire 90 days after the report date of issuance.
The Board of Auctioneers cannot issue a license without a valid FBI report.
You have 45 days to apply for your license after successfully passing the exam.