All active and escrowed licenses expire June 30th. Licensees will receive both email and standard mail notifications. The online renewal system is the preferred method of license renewal; however, licensees may download paper renewal forms from our website. The renewal forms and associated fees are due in the Board office on or before June 30. This is not a postmark deadline, but a filing deadline. The June 30 deadline is governed by statute, and is not subject to waiver. A completed renewal form and fee is processed if the required continuing education (CE) is earned by June 30 of the current year or the licensee is exempt from reporting CE. If a renewal is not received or CE is not complete, the license is canceled on July 1st and the individual may not perform services as an auctioneer or auction house operator.
If a renewal form is submitted from July 1 through December 31 AND the continuing education hours are earned between July 1 of the previous year and June 30 of the current year, the renewal is considered late and the applicable fees are required with the renewal form. If the CE is not complete by June 30, the licensee may renew his/her license by submitting the renewal form, the applicable renewal fee and a CE penalty fee of $300. The CE reporting requirement will be doubled for the next renewal. If a licensee is exempt from reporting continuing education and submits a renewal form from July 1 through December 31, the renewal is considered late and the applicable fees will be required with the renewal form.
Since the Kentucky Board of Auctioneers recognizes the CE requirement of the home jurisdiction of a reciprocal auctioneer, he/she shall submit the renewal form, fee and copy of his/her home-jurisdiction license. The Board determined that submission of a Letter of Good Standing with renewal is not required. If the home jurisdiction does not require CE, the Kentucky reciprocal licensee must also meet Kentucky's continuing education requirement by earning six hours of continuing education from July 1 of the previous year through June 30 of the current year, and sending the completion document to KBA.
If the renewal form and proof of applicable CE has not been submitted to the Board on or before December 31, the license is cancelled. In order to reactivate a license, an individual will be required to pass the examination for licensure ($125), pay the license fee ($125) and recovery fund fee ($30). An individual's previous exemption status of reporting CE is voided.
To renew by mail with a check or money order, print the renewal form below:
Renewal Form 2018.pdf