Continuing Education (CE)

To renew a license in June, a licensee must have earned the required CE from July 1st of the previous year through June 30th of the renewal year. A Principal Auctioneer, Nonresident Principal Auctioneer, Apprentice, Nonresident Apprentice, and Auction House Operator reports six hours.

Licensees exempt from reporting continuing education in Kentucky for the 2017 renewal are;

  • An individual who has a Kentucky license originally issued before 1980.
  • An individual who only has a Limited Livestock Auctioneer License.
  • An individual whose license is in escrow.
  • An individual who passed an exam between July 1 2016 and June 30 2017 and is issued an initial license or an apprentice who passed an exam between July 1 2016 and June 30 2017 and is issued an initial principal license.

Since the Kentucky Board of Auctioneers recognizes the CE requirement of the home jurisdiction of a reciprocal auctioneer, the requirement to renew a reciprocal license is submission of the renewal form and fee and a copy of the license or pocket card from the home jurisdiction. If the home jurisdiction does not require CE, the Kentucky reciprocal licensee must also meet Kentucky's continuing education requirement by earning six hours of continuing education from July 1 of the previous year through June 30 of the current year, and sending proof of completion to KBA.

If continuing education hours have not been completed by June 30th, there are two options for reinstatement of license;

  • Successfully complete the examination OR
  • Include a $300 CE penalty fee with the renewal fee and CE hours are doubled for the next renewal.

Licensees who earn continuing education credit should submit a copy of proof of attendance or a completion document by fax to (270)360-0917 or by email to auctioneers@ky.gov or by mail to the Board office. 

  Education schedules provided to the Board:   Core-CE schedule.pdf

The Kentucky Board of Auctioneers has approved the auction related courses of the following groups for continuing education requirements

 


Kentucky Auction Core Course

The Kentucky Board of Auctioneers requires licensees to complete a 6 hour board-approved auction law core course once every 4 years to renew their license. The purpose of the Core Course is to assure that all licensees receive training in Kentucky auction law. Licensees with at least 25 years of continuous licensure shall be exempt from this requirement. The auction Core Course will count as your CE for your scheduled year and must be completed between July 1st of the previous year and June 30th of your scheduled year. The schedule for the Core Course is based on licensee birthdates.

 Education schedules provided to the Board:   Core-CE schedule.pdf

Birth Month Renewal Year
January, February, March 2017
April, May, June 2018
July, August, September 2019
October, November, December 2020

The Kentucky Auction Core Course providers approved by The Kentucky Board of Auctioneers