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Renewal Time In June 
The renewal forms are scheduled to be mailed in mid-May to each licensee’s home 
address.  Continuing education credit must be earned between July 1, 2010 and 
June 30, 2011.  If you have completed CE, fax or mail the certificate or proof of 
attendance to the Board.  

The completed renewal (form, fee and if applicable, proof of CE) is due in the 
Board office on or before Thursday, June 30th 2011.   

 

Board-Sponsored Continuing Education Seminars 
Morehead, KY-Tues., April 5, 2011 

Morehead Conference Center, 111 East 1st St. 

9:00 AM through 12:00 Noon, ET 
Ken Hill         “Avoiding Compliance Problems” 

1:00 PM through 4:00 PM, ET 
Ken Hill               “Selling Firearms at Auction” 

Cadiz, KY-Tues., April 19, 2011 
Lake Barkley State Park, 3500 State Park Rd. 

9:00 AM through 12:00 Noon, CT 
Ken Hill         “Avoiding Compliance Problems” 

1:00 PM through 4:00 PM, CT 
Ken Hill               “Selling Firearms at Auction” 

Louisville, KY-Tues., May 10, 2011 

Fern Valley Hotel and Conference Center, 2715 Fern Valley Rd., 40213 

9:00 AM through 12:00 Noon, ET 
Ken Hill         “Avoiding Compliance Problems” 

1:00 PM through 4:00 PM, ET 
Ken Hill               “Selling Firearms at Auction” 

 

 

 



Somerset, KY-Tues., May 24, 2011 

Center for Rural Development, 2292 S Hwy 27, 42501 

9:00 AM through 12:00 Noon, ET 
Ken Hill         “Avoiding Compliance Problems” 

1:00 PM through 4:00 PM, ET 
Ken Hill               “Selling Firearms at Auction” 

 

___________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________ 

The renewal form is mailed to all licensees in middle to late May.  A principal 
auctioneer must complete 6 hours of continuing education (CE) by June 30th.  An 
apprentice auctioneer or an auction house operator must report 3 hours of CE by 
June 30th.  Mail or fax copies of CE completion documents to the Board.  If you 
attend the Board sponsored seminars, your information will automatically be 
updated.  

If CE is complete, but the renewal is received from July 1 through December 31, 
2011, an additional late fee is required. 

If CE is not completed by 6/30/11, renewal is not accepted. License is canceled 
and an examination is required for reinstatement.  If your license is by reciprocity, 
an initial application with all attachments is required. 

 
Attached is the registration form.  If you plan on registering early, fill out the form 
and return with the fee. 

 
Texas licensees:  Please take note that as of February 20, 2011, the Kentucky 
Board of Auctioneers will no longer accept Texas licensees under a reciprocal basis.  
We will however accept your CE for this renewal year (2010-2011) but as of 
6/30/11 all Texas licensees who are currently licensed in Kentucky must receive 
CE from a Kentucky CE approved provider. 

 
IMPORTANT ISSUES 

Make sure you know the law: 

KRS330.020 (3): “Auction” means any method of sale, lease or exchange of real 
property, personal property, or any combination thereof, by means of 
competitively increasing or decreasing bids.  Any sale, lease, or exchange of real 
property, personal property, or any combination thereof, advertised or presented 
in any way by or at auction is an auction. 

KRS330.110 (5): License suspension, revocation, and other penalties -- 
Grounds: Failing to account for or remit, within a reasonable time, any money 
belonging to others that comes into the licensee’s possession, commingling funds 
of others with the licensee’s own funds, or failing to keep the funds of others in an 
escrow or trustee account. 

 

 



 

KRS330.110 (14): Failure to establish and maintain, for a minimum of five (5) 
years from final settlement, complete and correct written or electronic records and 
accounts of all auction transactions, including: 

(a) Listing contracts, including the name and address of the seller; 

(b) Written purchase contracts: 

(c) Descriptive inventory and final bid amounts of all items or lots offered; 

(d) Buyer registration records; and 

(e) Settlement records, including all moneys received and disbursed and escrow 
account activity. 

 

KRS330.220 (7) (a): At any absolute auction, any advertisement or 
representation of a minimum or suggest starting bid is prohibited. (b): At any 
reserve auction, any advertisement or representation of a minimum or suggested 
starting bid is prohibited unless: 1. The minimum or suggested starting bid 
advertised or represented is sufficient to satisfy the auction listing contract stated 
reserve or confirmation amount; and 2. The auction listing contract contains a 
binding acknowledgement by the seller that permission has been granted for 
disclosure. 

 
FEES 

Renewal Fee - $130 

Change of address - $10 

Change of Principal - $10 

Escrow Renewal - $100 

Late Renewal - $130 + $100 late fee = $230 if CE completed between 7/1/10 and 
6/30/11. 

If CE not completed - $230 + $300 penalty fee + CE doubled. 

Escrow late Renewal - $150 

Letter of Good Standing $5 

 
SALES TAX AUDITS 

The Kentucky Department of Revenue is again conducting audits of auctioneers 
and auction house operators.  The Board has had reports of these audits resulting 
in additional sales tax and penalties being assessed against licensees ranging from 
zero to several thousands of dollars.  The primary problem areas appear to be with 
agricultural purchases of farm equipment, resale certificates from dealers and 
licensed boats and trailers.  Boats and most trailers (semi-trailers are exempt), 
even if they have titles, are not “motor vehicles” and the county clerks do not 
collect the sales tax on these at the time of transfer, it is the auctioneer’s 
responsibility to collect the sales tax. You are also suppose to pay sales tax (usage 
tax) on any items you purchase from out of state (such as auction brochure 
printing) if the seller does not collect the Kentucky Sales Tax. 



 

 
 

COMMISSIONERS 
 

E. GLENN BIRDWHISTELL - CHAIRMAN 
LAWRENCEBURG 

STEPHEN D. LEWIS - VICE-CHAIRMAN 
MOREHEAD 

J. RANDALL BUSH 
ELIZABETHTOWN 

SAMUEL RAY GODBY 
SOMERSET 

CLARENCE A. YANCEY 
LOUISVILLE 

______________________________________________________________________
 

STAFF 
 

MARILYNN KENNEDY - EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR 
LAVONNE BOWLING - EXECUTIVE SECRETARY 

LARRY MAHONEY - COMPLIANCE OFFICER 
KENNITH HILL - COMPLIANCE OFFICER 

STEPHEN VAN ZANT - BOARD COUNSELOR 
_______________________________________________________________
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2011 SEMINAR REGISTRATION FORM 
Place a check mark (√) beside the date of attendance. 

 
   
______  Tuesday   April 5    Eastern KY  (Eastern Time)-Ken Hill 
  Morehead Conference Center 
  111 East First St, Morehead, KY  40351 
   
______  Tuesday   April 19   Western KY (Central Time)-Ken Hill 
  Lake Barkley State Resort Park 
  3500 State Park Rd, Cadiz, KY  42211 
   
______  Tuesday   May 10   Central KY (Eastern Time)-Ken Hill 
  Fern Valley Hotel and Conference Center 
  2715 Fern Valley Rd, Louisville  KY  40213 
 
______ Tuesday   May 24   Southern KY (Eastern Time)-Ken Hill 
  Center for Rural Development 
  2292 S Hwy 27, Somerset  KY  42501 
 
   
________________________________________       ___________ 
NAME                    LICENSE NO. 
Make check or money order payable to the KY Board of Auctioneers 

Mail to: KY Board of Auctioneers, 9112 Leesgate Rd, Suite 5, Louisville, KY 40222 

DISCOUNTED EARLY REGISTRATION: $25  

LATE REGISTRATION AT SITE: $35  

A.M. session 9:00-12:00    P.M. session 1:00-4:00   local time. 

Registration fee includes both sessions.  Registration fees are non-
refundable. 
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