Renewal and

April 2010

Kentucky Board of
Auctioneers

9112 Leesgate Rd., #5
Louisville, KY 40222

Phone:
(502) 429-7145

Fax:
(502) 429-7147

E-mail:
auctioneers@ky.gov

We're on the Web!
http://auctioneers.ky.gov

Newsletter

Auctioneer

Address

City, State Zip

# of hours you need for 2010 renewal:

Renewal Time In 2 Months-Renewal Form included

Continuing education credit must be earned between July 1, 2009 and June 30, 2010. If you have
completed CE, fax the certificate or proof of attendance to the Board.

The completed renewal (form, fee and if applicable, proof of CE) is due in the Board office on or
before Wednesday, June 30™.

Remaining Board-Sponsored Seminars

5/18/2010

JENNY WILEY STATE PARK
75 THEATRE COURT
PRESTONSBURG, KY 41653

9:00 AM through 12:00 Noon, ET
Darron Meares "Intro to Technology, Social networking”

1:00 PM through 4:00 PM, ET
Darren Meares  “Estates at Auction”

5/25/2010

GENERAL BUTLER STATE PARK
1608 Hwy 227

CARROLLTON, KY 41008

9:00 AM through 12:00 Noon, ET
Larry Garner "To Be Announced”

1:00 PM through 4:00 PM, ET
Larry Garner "To Be Announced"



IF YOU NEED A CERTIFICATE FOR ANOTHER STATE, PLEASE INDICATE
THAT ON YOUR SIGN-IN SHEET DURING THE SEMINAR.

YOUR HOURS WILL BE ENTERED INTO OUR DATABASE AFTER THE
SEMINARS. NO OTHER DOCUMENTATION WILL BE NEEDED.

THE REGISTRATION FORM IS INCLUDED IN THIS ISSUE.

REMEMBER, AN APPRENTICE NEEDS 3 HOURS OF CONTINUING
EDUCATION, AND AUCTION HOUSE OPERATOR NEEDS 3 HOURS AND A
PRINCIPAL AUCTIONEER NEEDS 6 HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION.

EVERYONE IS WELCOME TO STAY THE ENTIRE SESSION EVEN IF THEY
ONLY NEED 3 HOURS.

RECENT ISSUES OF CONCERN

ISSUE 1: We have received several calls regarding auctioning mounted
deer head. The Dept. of Fish and Wildlife states; KRS 150.4111 (1);
Any person may purchase from or sell to a licensed taxidermist any legally
mounted specimen.

ISSUE 2: The question of selling nursery stock came up at the KAA
convention and according to Nurseries and Dealers to be licensed--Fees;
KRS 249.060 (d): Class B dealer; businesses whose primary business is not
the sale of nursery stock shall pay an annual fee of twenty-five ($25).

ISSUE 3: The Kentucky Board of Auctioneers has had many complaints in
the last 1 % years from sellers who have not settled within 30 days of the
auction. KRS 330.110 (5), states that the board may suspend for a period
up to five (5) years or revoke the license of any licensee, or levy fines or
place any licensee on probation for a period of up to five (5) years for
"Failing to account for or remit, within a reasonable time, any money
belonging to others that comes into the licensee's possession, commingling
funds of others with the licensee’s own funds, or failing to keep the funds
of others in an escrow or trustee account” and according to 201 KAR
3:040, settlement with the seller must occur within 30 days after the
conclusion of the auction, unless there is a legal requirement that funds
held in escrow be held longer than 30 days. An escrow account is a
necessity for any auctioneer or auction house operator who signs an auction
listing contract.

ISSUE 4: Please make sure to familiarize yourselves with our new laws
that went into effect June 25, 2009. You were sent a copy in the 10/2009
newsletter.



For Office Use
Rec'd date:

Amount:

Cash ___ Check __MO__

2010 SEMINAR REGISTRATION FORM

Place a check mark (V) beside the date of attendance.

Monday February 15 Bowling Green (CT)-Scott Musser
Holiday Inn
1021 Wilkinson Trace, Bowling Green KY 42103

Tuesday April 20 Southern KY (CT)-Ken Byrd
Barren River Lake State Resort Park
1149 State Park Rd., Lucas KY 42156

Tuesday April 27 Western KY (CT)-Steve Cherry & Steve Henry
Kentucky Dam Village State Resort Park
166 Upper Village, Highway 641, Gilbertsville KY 42044

Tuesday May 18 Eastern KY (ET)-Darren Meares
Jenny Wiley State Resort Park
75 Theatre Court, Prestonburg KY 41653

Tuesday May 25 Northern KY (ET)-Larry Garner
General Butler State Resort Park
1608 Highway 227, Carrollton KY 41008

NAME LICENSE NUMBER
Make check or money order payable to the KY Board of Auctioneers

Mail to: KY Board of Auctioneers, 9112 Leesgate Rd, Suite 5, Louisville, KY 40222
DISCOUNTED EARLY REGISTRATION: $25

LATE REGISTRATION AT SITE: $35

A.M. session 9:00-12:00 P.M. session 1:00-4:00 local time.

Registration fee includes both sessions. Registration fees are non-refundable.






LAWS THAT 60 INTO EFFECT 7/1/2010
According to KRS 330.060 (1)

(c): Effective July 1, 2010, an applicant for an apprentice auctioneer license shall have
successfully completed at least eighty (80) hours of approved classroom instruction from a
board-approved auction education provider.

(d) The board may waive the eighty (80) hours of approved classroom instruction
requirement if the applicant demonstrates sufficient previous auction experience and
competency by affidavit or other evidence as required by the board.

According to KRS 330.070 (2)

An apprentice auctioneer with an original license issued prior to June 30, 2010, shall be
required to successfully complete the auctioneer examination.

(3) Effective July 1, 2010, an applicant for an apprentice auctioneer license shall be
required to successfully complete the auctioneer examination prior to being issued an
apprentice license. No further examination shall be required prior to applying for an auctioneer
license.

(@) Anapprentice auctioneer shall apply for an auctioneer license after completing the two
(2) year apprentice ship and within five (5) years of being issued an apprentice license.

(b) If alicensed apprentice auctioneer does not apply for an auctioneer license within five
(B) years of receiving an apprentice license, the apprentice license shall not be renewed.

(c) This subsection shall not apply to an apprentice auctioneer licensed prior to June 30,
2010.

Please refer to http://auctioneers.ky.gov for the full text of the current statutes.




AS OF APRIL 2010 THESE ARE THE KENTUCKY BOARD OF AUCTIONEERS PRE-
APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDERS. AS OF 7/1/10 EVERY AUCTIONEER WILL HAVE TO
RECEIVE THEIR CE FROM A KBA APPROVED PROVIDER OR ONE OF KBA'S SEMINARS.

Professional Ringmen's Institute - Rogersville, MO
Kentucky Auction Academy - Bowling Green, KY

World Wide College of Auctioneering - Mason City, IA
NAA Conference & Show 2010 - Greensboro, NC

Ohio Auction School - Groveport, OH

Indiana College of Auctioneers - Scipio, IN

Nashville Auction School - Tullahoma, TN
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DOING BUSINESS IN KENTUCKY
The office has had several requests to reprint this list from our Auctioneers.

The employees of the Kentucky Board of Auctioneers can only respond to questions regarding KRS 330 or related regulations.
The Board recommends that the licensee ask the SOURCE for all other clarifications. Listed below are relevant telephone
numbers. Most websites of the following state and federal agencies are linked at http://auctioneers.ky.gov/relinks.html

Kentucky Sales Tax Corporations in Kentucky
Dept of Revenue (502) 564-5170 Secretary of State (502) 564-2848

Alcohol

Motor Vehicles, County Clerk or ATF (800) 688-9889 and

KY Dept of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Usage Tax Section

KY Dept of Alcoholic Beverage Control
(502) 564-4455 (502) 564-4850
Firearms Food Products
ATF (800) 688-9889 and Cabinet for Health Services, Food Safety Branch
Kentucky State Police (502) 227-8700 (502) 564-7181
Mobile/Manufactured Homes Meth Cleanup, Underground Storage Tanks
KY Dept of Housing, Buildings and Construction KY Division of Waste Management (502) 564-6716 and

Division of Fire Prevention US Environmental Protection Agency

(502) 573-0382 Region 4, (800) 241-1754

Protected Wildlife, Mussels & Fishes,
Raw Fur or Processed Wildlife

. s State Entomologist
KY Dept. of Fish & Wildlife (800) 858-1549 (859) 257-5838

Nursery Stock

Car Dealer License o
Motor Vehicle Commission Kentucky Real Estate Commission

(502) 564-1000 (502) 429-7250

Dept. of Charitable Gaming

Public Protection & Regulation Cabinet Kentucky Auctioneers Association

(502)573-5528 270-782-2773
Mattresses o o
Environmental Management Branch NAA / Continuing Education in KY

(502)564-4856 x3724 (888)541-8084 x28



2010 RENEWAL

Commonwealth of Kentucky Fo RM

Kentucky Board of Auctioneers

9112 LEESGATE ROAD, SUITE 5
LOUISVILLE, KENTUCKY 40222
(502) 429-7145
Fax (502) 429-7147
http://auctioneers.ky.gov

July 7, 2010

Home/Mailing Address:

Name
Address
City, State, Zip

License Number: Daytime phone number:
Home county (if reside in Kentucky):
Business address:  Auctioneer/AHO

Address
City, State, Zip

Business phone number:
Business county (if business is in Kentucky):

>

nswer the following questions. If all questions are not answered, the renewal form will be returned.

1. Do you conduct regularly scheduled consignment auctions? Yes[ | No[ ]
If yes: Address
Day(s) and Time(s) of Auction

2. Has disciplinary action been taken or is there a current investigation against your auctioneer license or any
other professional license in any state or jurisdiction? Yes|[ ] No[ ] If yes, attach a copy of the
Order and letter of explanation. (If previously reported to the KY Board of Auctioneers, please note
here. )

3. KRS 164.772 requires submission of the following information by individuals holding a professional license
in the Commonwealth. Do you have an outstanding student loan or other repayment obligation with the
Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority: Yes|[ ] No[ ]

If yes, areyou: current[ ] or indefault[ ] of this obligation.

If you are in default, your license to practice in the Commonwealth of Kentucky may not be renewed.

# of hours you need for 2010 renewal:

I certify this information is true and correct.

Signature Date

~

INSTRUCTION ON REVERSE SIDE




INSTRUCTIONS

Please review the preprinted information. All correspondence from the Kentucky Board of Auctioneers
is mailed to the home/mailing address. Licenses are mailed to the business address. Make any
corrections by crossing out the incorrect information and printing the correct information out on the
same line. The Business telephone number and the Business Address are published in the Directory
and on the Board’s website.

The renewal fee and reinstatem ent fee are bas ed on dates that the Kentucky Board of Auctioneers receives the
material. Itis not a postmark date! The fee is remitted by check or m oney order payable to the KY Board of
Auctioneers. License renewals not received by July 1st are canceled until reinstated or reissued.
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IF CONTINUING EDUCATION HOURS ARE COMPLETED BY JUNE 30, 2010 OR
LICENSEE IS EXEMPT FROM REPORTING CONTINUING EDUCATION HOURS

Submit completed 2010 renewal form, the renewal fee, app licable proof of completed CE (earned from July
1, 2009 through June 30, 2010, if not previously reported), and if applicable the $10 address change fee

e [freceived in the Board Office on or before Thursday, July 1, 2010

Renewal Fee $130
If you have any address changes, include: $10
OR
e Ifreceived in the Board office on or after July 2, 2010 through December 31, 2010
Reinstatem ent Fee $230
If you have any address changes, include: $10
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IF CONTINUING EDUCATION HOURS ARE NOT COMPLETED BY JUNE 30, 2010

e Your Kentucky license is canceled. Continuing education reporting ex emptions are canceled. Subm it
the com pleted exa mapplica tion( examin formationand application available at
http://auctioneers.ky.gov) and app licable ex am fee ($75 0 r $100). W hen the exam is successfully
completed and remittance of the $130 license fee, your license will be issued.

OR

e Remit the applicable renewal fee of $130 (if received in the Board office on or before 7/1/10) or $230
(if received in the Board office on 7/2/10 through 12/31/10), the completed 2010 renewal form, a $300
CE penalty fee, and if a pplicable the $10 address cha nge fee. Your continui ng education requirem ent
for the 2011 renewal is doubled.
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TO ESCROW LICENSE, REQUEST MUST BE IN BOARD OFFICE BY JUNE 30th

If the renewal form and fee is received in the Board office on or before June 30%, you may
place your license in escrow. Submit the 2010 completed renewal form with the business
address marked out, write ““I want to put my license in escrow” on the form and remit the
renewal fee of $100. If mailing/home address is changed, include $10. NOTE: Escrow
renewal fee is $100 every year ($150 if late). To reactivate an escrowed license, proof of
completed CE hours and a reactivation fee of $130 are required.
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